About Us

Triangle MLK Committee

The Triangle Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee exists to educate our community by expanding upon the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  Among the principles of Dr. King’s legacy are: respect, equality, opportunity, diversity and a commitment to peace, justice, and non-violent solutions to conflict.  All of these principles at the heart of the civil rights movement are equally as relevant to our lives today as we seek to address and solve present-day social issues in our community.

It is the goal of the Triangle MLK Committee to organize, deliver and promote quality events and programming in the Triangle on the King national holiday, and expand the message of hope and healing in Dr. King’s philosophy through ongoing, community-engaging activities throughout the year.

Letter from the Board Chair

It is an amazing and wonderful fact that the prophetic voice of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. is so relevant to our present-day sociological issues, challenges and spiritual condition. His legacy is an inspiring model when revisited by those searching for answers to many of our current social dilemmas.

Board of Directors

Dr. Dumas A. Harshaw, Jr.

Marty Clayton
Vice Chair

Thad Woodard

Loretta Harper-Arnold

Board Members

  • Creighton Blackwell
  • Marty Clayton
  • Jeremy Collins
  • Rabbi Lucy Dinner
  • Robert Doreauk
  • Dennis English
  • Loretta Harper-Arnold
  • Dr. Dumas A. Harshaw, Jr.
  • Mark Gibson
  • Joseph Sansom
  • Maria Spaulding
  • James White
  • Thad Woodard